Skip to main content

Wyze Cam Models Compared: v4 vs v3 vs OG vs Pan v4 vs Outdoor

Home/Resources/Brand Comparisons/Wyze Cam Models Compared

Affiliate Disclosure: Some links on this page are affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases — at no extra cost to you. We do not buy, install, or physically handle the cameras we cover; our rankings come from aggregated owner reviews, ratings and expert consensus. Commissions never change our verdicts. We're reader-supported: commissions fund hosting, research and updates, so if a guide helped, buying through our links keeps it going. How we rank · full disclosure.

Short version: the Wyze Cam v4 is the default plug-in camera, the Cam OG is the budget alternative, the Pan v4 is the whole-room pick, the Outdoor v2 is the no-outlet option, and the v3 is discontinued. This page lines the five up on published specs so you can match one to the spot you need to cover.

How we work: we did not buy or test these cameras. Specifications come from Wyze’s own product pages, read in September 2026, and the “who it suits” judgments come from those specs and the themes in aggregated owner reviews. See how we rank. Our roundup of the best Wyze cameras ranks the range; this page is the spec-by-spec version. For other brand matchups, browse the brand comparisons hub.

In Plain English

Wyze sells a lot of cameras with similar names, which is confusing. Here is the quick sort.

Most of the range is a small, plug-in camera that sits on a shelf or a wall and records to a memory card. The v4 is the newest and sharpest of those. The OG is the cheaper one. Both are rated to handle weather, but you need an outdoor power adapter to use them outside. The v3 is the older model that Wyze has stopped selling.

The Pan v4 is different: it turns and tilts, so one camera can watch a whole room and follow movement. The Outdoor v2 is different too: it runs on batteries and talks to a small base station, so it can go where there is no outlet.

Two things apply to all of them. They work without a monthly plan, saving clips to a microSD card, but smart alerts such as person detection usually need Wyze’s Cam Plus subscription. And they connect over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, so a weak signal at the mounting spot is the most common reason a good camera behaves badly.

Wyze Cam Models: Spec-by-Spec Table

Every figure below comes from the model’s own Wyze product page. Where a page did not state something, the cell says so rather than guessing.

ModelVideoViewPowerStorageWeather
Cam v42.5K (2560x1440), color night vision115.8° diagonalPlug-in USB, outdoor adapter sold separatelymicroSD to 256GBIP65, -4°F to 122°F
Cam v3 (discontinued)1080p, color night vision121° diagonalPlug-in, outdoor adapter separatemicroSD (max not stated)IP65
Cam OG1080p, color night vision120° diagonalPlug-in USBmicroSD to 256GBIP65, -4°F to 131°F
Cam Pan v44K (3840x2160), color night vision360° pan, 180° tiltPlug-in USB-C, outdoor adapter separatemicroSD to 512GBIP65
Cam Outdoor v21080p, color night vision130°Two rechargeable batteries, 3 to 6 monthsmicroSD to 256GB, camera and baseIP65, -4°F to 122°F

Which Wyze Cam Suits Which Job

Skip the spec sheet and start from where the camera has to go.

A shelf, a window sill or a wall near an outlet. The v4 or the OG. The v4 gives you a sharper picture (2.5K against 1080p) and a stronger spotlight, and it is the current model. The OG is worth considering when you are buying several cameras and 1080p is plenty.

A room you want covered from one spot. The Pan v4. Wyze lists 360 degrees of pan and 180 degrees of tilt at 4K resolution, plus AI tracking for people, pets and vehicles, which makes it a natural living-room or nursery-hallway camera. One turning camera replaces two fixed ones in an open space, though it can only watch one direction at a time.

A spot with no outlet, such as a fence, a gate or a shed. The Outdoor v2. Wyze lists two 2,600 mAh batteries good for up to three to six months of normal use, with a solar panel option, and a base station that supports up to four cameras. The trade-off is that the base station itself needs power and a network connection, and battery life shortens when the camera sees a lot of motion.

A porch or a driveway. Any of the plug-in cameras can work, but they need an outdoor power adapter and a cable route, which adds cost and effort. If you cannot run power, the Outdoor v2 is usually the better fit. For placement height and angle, see where to place security cameras.

Wyze Cam v4 vs Cam OG

These two are the practical choice for most buyers, and the gap is smaller than the names suggest. The v4 records at 2.5K where the OG records at 1080p, so faces and license plates hold up better when you zoom in. The v4 has a 72 lumen spotlight and a 99dB speaker with two-way talk and a built-in siren; the OG lists a 40 lumen spotlight and a 90 decibel siren. The OG lists an 8x digital zoom, and a telephoto edition with a 3x lens and a narrower 27 degree field of view.

The rest is close. Both are IP65 rated, both are plug-in, both record to microSD up to 256GB, and both use 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. If your wall has a good view and you are not zooming into footage, the OG saves money. If you want to identify a face at the edge of the frame, the v4 is worth the difference.

#1Wyze Cam v4 (2.5K)
Sharpest plug-in pick
Wyze Cam v4 (2.5K)

Best for the current mainstream Wyze camera, with 2.5K video, a built-in spotlight and microSD recording.

  • 2.5K (2560x1440) video with color night vision.
  • IP65 rated, outdoor power adapter sold separately.
  • microSD recording up to 256GB.
#2Wyze Cam OG
Lowest-cost outdoor-rated pick
Wyze Cam OG

Best for the cheapest way into a weather-rated plug-in Wyze camera.

  • 1080p video with a 40 lumen spotlight.
  • IP65 rated, plug-in power.
  • microSD recording up to 256GB.

What Happened to the Wyze Cam v3?

Wyze’s own page says the v3 is no longer available and won’t be coming back, and points buyers to the v4. That does not make an existing v3 useless. It lists 1080p video, a 121 degree diagonal field of view, color night vision, IP65 weather resistance and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and it still records to microSD. If you own one, there is no urgent reason to replace it. If you are buying new, choose the v4 or OG so you get a supported, current model.

Cam Pan v4: When Panning Is Worth It

A pan-and-tilt camera solves a specific problem: a single fixed lens has blind spots in a large room. Wyze lists the Pan v4 with a 4K, 8-megapixel sensor, a 360 degree horizontal and 180 degree vertical range, two infrared LEDs and a 60 lumen spotlight, and support for microSD up to 512GB. The AI tracking follows people, pets and vehicles with priority settings, and a 100dB speaker and microphone handle two-way talk.

Two cautions. First, tracking is not the same as continuous coverage: a camera that follows one person may not be looking where something else happens. Second, Wyze says outdoor use requires its separate Universal Outdoor Power Adapter, so it is best treated as an indoor camera unless you have a sheltered outdoor spot and a cable route. If you mainly need one wide view of a room, a fixed v4 may be enough.

Cam Outdoor v2: The Battery Option

The Outdoor v2 is the odd one out because it does not plug into a wall. It lists a 130 degree field of view, four 850nm infrared LEDs with up to 25 feet of night vision, PIR motion detection, two-way audio and a built-in siren, and it has a microSD slot on both the camera and the base station. Wyze says a 256GB card gives about 56 days of standard-definition video or 16 days of HD video.

The catch is the base station. It is required, it supports up to four cameras, and it needs an ethernet connection for initial setup before it can operate over Wi-Fi. That makes it a small system rather than a single camera. Battery life also depends on how much motion the camera sees, so a camera facing a busy street will drain sooner than one covering a side gate.

Cam Plus and What You Get Without It

Every Wyze camera on this page works without a plan. Live view and microSD recording are yours from day one. What a plan adds is cloud storage and smart detection. Wyze lists Cam Plus at $2.99 per month per camera, and Cam Unlimited at $9.99 per month or $99 per year for unlimited cameras, as of September 2026, with 14 days of cloud video and person, pet, vehicle and package detection. Wyze says a 30-day free trial is available for new subscribers.

Do the arithmetic before you buy. One camera on Cam Plus costs less per year than a Cam Unlimited plan, but three or more cameras usually tip the balance toward Cam Unlimited. And a plan is optional: if you only want a record you can scrub through on a memory card, you can skip it. For the wider question, see is Wyze worth it.

Going Deeper: Reading a Wyze Spec Sheet Honestly

Wyze pages put several numbers next to each other, and a few deserve a second look. Resolution is the headline, but it is not the whole picture. A 2.5K sensor gives more pixels than 1080p, but how usable the footage is at night depends on the sensor and the lighting. Wyze lists color night vision on all five, which relies on the spotlight or ambient light, while the infrared LEDs give a black-and-white view when it is dark. Check how each model’s color night vision is described on its page, because a spotlight-assisted mode lights up the scene, which suits a deterrent and may not suit a bedroom.

Field of view is the second number. A wider angle covers more ground but makes distant subjects smaller. The v4 lists 115.8 degrees diagonally, the OG 120, the v3 121, and the Outdoor v2 130. These are small differences on paper. Mounting height and angle matter more than a few degrees, which is why placement is covered in its own guide.

The IP65 rating is the third. It describes protection against dust and low-pressure water jets, which suits a porch or eave. It does not mean a camera enjoys direct rain from every direction all winter, and the power connection is usually the weak point on plug-in models, hence Wyze’s separate outdoor adapter. Operating temperatures are published too: the v4 and Outdoor v2 list -4°F to 122°F and the OG lists -4°F to 131°F. In a colder climate, check that range against your winters.

Finally, storage limits differ. The v4 and OG list 256GB microSD support, the Pan v4 lists 512GB, and the v3 page does not state a maximum. If you record continuously rather than on motion, capacity fills quicker than you expect, and the card’s write endurance matters as much as its size. A card built for continuous recording is worth the small extra cost for that reason.

Sources & References

  1. Wyze Cam v4 — Wyze
  2. Wyze Cam v3 — Wyze
  3. Wyze Cam OG — Wyze
  4. Wyze Cam Pan v4 — Wyze
  5. Wyze Cam Outdoor v2 — Wyze
  6. Cam Plus — Wyze
Straight Answers

Frequently Asked

Which Wyze Cam should I buy in 2026?

For most people the Wyze Cam v4 is the default. Wyze lists it at 2.5K resolution with color night vision, an integrated spotlight, IP65 weather resistance and microSD recording up to 256GB, and it is the model Wyze points to as the replacement for the discontinued v3. The Cam OG is the cheaper option if 1080p is enough. The Pan v4 is the pick if you want to cover a whole room from one spot, and the Outdoor v2 is the pick if there is no power outlet where the camera has to go.

Is the Wyze Cam v3 still available?

Wyze’s own v3 product page says the product is no longer available and won’t be coming back, and recommends the newer Cam v4 as a replacement. You may still find v3 units through resellers or on a shelf in an old drawer, and they still work, but for a new purchase the v4 or OG is the sensible choice.

Are Wyze cameras really weatherproof?

Wyze lists the v4, v3, OG, Pan v4 and Outdoor v2 as IP65 rated, which means protection against dust and low-pressure water jets. That is suitable for a covered or partly exposed spot. The plug-in models still need power, and for outdoor use Wyze says the v4 and Pan v4 need a separate outdoor power adapter, so factor that into the cost and the cable run.

Do Wyze cameras need a subscription?

No, the cameras work without one, and each supports microSD recording. Wyze’s Cam Plus page lists Cam Plus at $2.99 per month per camera, or Cam Unlimited at $9.99 per month or $99 per year for unlimited cameras, as of September 2026, and includes 14 days of cloud video plus person, pet, vehicle and package detection. Wyze lists person detection on the v4 as requiring Cam Plus, so if smart alerts matter to you, budget for it.

What is the difference between the Wyze Cam v4 and the Cam OG?

Mostly resolution and features. The v4 records at 2.5K (2560x1440) with a 72 lumen spotlight and a 99dB speaker, according to Wyze’s page, while the OG records at 1080p with a 40 lumen spotlight and a 90 decibel siren. The OG is the lower-cost route, and it also comes in a telephoto version with a 3x lens and a narrower 27 degree field of view.

Does the Wyze Cam Pan v4 follow people automatically?

Wyze lists AI-powered object tracking for people, pets and vehicles, with customizable priority settings, alongside 360 degree pan and 180 degree tilt. Like other Wyze smart detection, some of these features may depend on a Cam Plus plan, so confirm what is included on the product page before you buy.

Which Wyze camera works without a power outlet?

The Wyze Cam Outdoor v2 is the battery-powered one. Wyze lists two 2,600 mAh rechargeable batteries with up to 3 to 6 months of life under normal use, and it is compatible with Wyze’s solar panel. It also needs the included base station, which supports up to four cameras and needs an ethernet connection for first-time setup.

Do Wyze cameras work on 5GHz Wi-Fi?

The Wyze pages for the v3 and the OG state 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only, and the v4 page lists 2.4 GHz with Wi-Fi 6 support. If your router combines both bands under one name, you may need to split them or pair the camera while your phone is on the 2.4 GHz band. Our 2.4 GHz vs 5 GHz guide explains why.